News ID

Nominations Open for 2016 Phil Kaufman Award

EDA Consortium

SAN JOSE, CA--(Marketwired - Feb 16, 2016) - Nominations for the 2016 Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to Electronic Design Automation (EDA) Award opened today and will be accepted until Thursday, June 30, announced the EDA Consortium (EDAC) and the IEEE Council on EDA (CEDA).

The award, established in 1994, honors the late EDA industry pioneer Phil Kaufman, who turned innovative technologies such as silicon compilation and hardware emulation into businesses. It recognizes individuals whose contributions have made a significant impact within EDA in business, industry direction, promotion, technology and engineering, educational or mentoring. Impartiality is provided to all nominees, without regard to race, gender, age or national origin.

Dr. Walden (Wally) C. Rhines, chairman and chief executive officer of Mentor Graphics Corporation, was the recipient of the 2015 award. He was honored for growing the EDA and integrated circuit (IC) design industries through his efforts as a leading voice of EDA and for pioneering the evolution of IC design to system-on-chip (SoC) design.

A list of previous award recipients can be found at:

"Phil Kaufman exemplified the difference one person can make and it's a privilege to be able to continue to recognize him and others who have done so much for EDA," says Robert P. Smith, EDAC's executive director.

Adds Shishpal S. Rawat, president of CEDA: "The Phil Kaufman Award recognizes significant contributions to electronic design automation research and its commercialization. The IEEE Council on EDA is pleased to partner with the EDA Consortium in seeking outstanding nominees."

To download the 2016 nomination form, go to:

About the EDA Consortium

The Electronic Design Automation Consortium, EDAC, is the international association representing companies that develop and provide software tools, services, intellectual property and hardware that make it possible for hardware and software engineers to create the world's electronic products. EDAC's member companies deliver the critical technology and solutions needed to design and verify the semiconductors and associated software, packaging and interconnect technologies that enable the manufacturing of these products. Our member companies impact every conceivable segment of the electronics market, from communications, computers, networking, space technology, medical and industrial equipment to consumer electronics and the emerging IoT (Internet of Things) markets. For more information about the EDA Consortium, visit

About the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA)

The IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA) provides a focal point for EDA activities spread across six IEEE societies (Antennas and Propagation, Circuits and Systems, Computer, Electron Devices, Microwave Theory and Techniques, and Solid-State Circuits). The Council sponsors or co-sponsors over a dozen key EDA conferences including: the Design Automation Conference (DAC), Asia and South Pacific Design Automation Conference (ASP-DAC), International Conference on Computer Aided Design (ICCAD), Design Automation and Test in Europe (DATE), and events at Embedded Systems Week (ESWeek). The Council also publishes IEEE Transactions on Computer Aided Design of Integrated Circuits & Systems (TCAD), IEEE Design & Test (D&T), and IEEE Embedded Systems Letters (ESL). In order to promote the recognition of leading EDA professionals, the Council sponsors the A. Richard Newton, Phil Kaufman, and Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Awards. The Council welcomes new volunteers and local chapters. For more information on CEDA, visit:

Source: EDA Consortium